How Many Friday the 13th Movies Are There?

Overview of the Friday the 13th Franchise

The Friday the 13th franchise is a series of horror movies that started in 1980 with the release of the first film, also titled Friday the 13th. The franchise revolves around the character of Jason Voorhees, a seemingly invincible killer who wears a hockey mask and wields a machete.

The original film was directed by Sean S. Cunningham and written by Victor Miller, and it was a surprise hit at the box office. It spawned numerous sequels, spin-offs, and adaptations over the years, and has become a cultural phenomenon in the horror genre.

The Friday the 13th franchise has had a significant impact on popular culture and has inspired countless imitations and parodies. The character of Jason Voorhees has become an icon of horror, and his distinctive appearance and weapon of choice have become synonymous with the franchise.

In the following sections, we will delve deeper into the history of the Friday the 13th franchise and explore the various films that make up the series.

The Original Film and its Legacy

The original Friday the 13th movie was released in 1980 and was directed by Sean S. Cunningham. The film centers around a group of young camp counselors who are stalked and killed one by one by an unknown assailant. The killer is eventually revealed to be Mrs. Voorhees, the mother of a young boy named Jason who drowned in the lake years earlier.

Despite mixed reviews from critics, the movie was a box office success, grossing over $59 million on a budget of $550,000. The success of the film spawned a franchise that would continue for decades.

The original Friday the 13th movie has had a lasting impact on the horror genre and has become a classic of the slasher film subgenre. It helped to establish many of the tropes that are now associated with the genre, such as the final girl and the masked killer. The movie also popularized the concept of a killer who is seemingly unkillable and has supernatural abilities, such as Jason Voorhees.

Overall, the legacy of the original Friday the 13th film is undeniable, and its impact on popular culture and the horror genre cannot be overstated.

The Sequels and Spin-Offs

Following the success of the original Friday the 13th movie, a series of sequels and spin-offs were released in the years that followed. The first sequel, Friday the 13th Part 2, was released in 1981 and featured the return of Jason Voorhees as the main antagonist. From there, the franchise continued to produce sequels at a steady pace, with a new film released nearly every year in the 1980s.

Over time, the franchise expanded beyond the main series of films to include spin-offs and adaptations in other media. This included comic books, novels, video games, and even a television series. The Friday the 13th franchise also crossed over with other horror franchises, such as A Nightmare on Elm Street, in the 2003 film Freddy vs. Jason.

Despite the franchise’s popularity, critical reception of the films has been mixed. While some entries in the series have been praised for their inventive kills and suspenseful atmosphere, others have been criticized for their reliance on formula and lack of originality.

Overall, the Friday the 13th franchise has remained a beloved part of the horror genre for over four decades, and its influence can still be felt in modern horror films today.

A Complete List of Friday the 13th Movies

There are a total of 12 movies in the Friday the 13th franchise, not including the crossover film Freddy vs. Jason. Here is a complete list of all the movies in the series, in order of release:

  1. Friday the 13th (1980)
  2. Friday the 13th Part 2 (1981)
  3. Friday the 13th Part III (1982)
  4. Friday the 13th: The Final Chapter (1984)
  5. Friday the 13th Part V: A New Beginning (1985)
  6. Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives (1986)
  7. Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood (1988)
  8. Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan (1989)
  9. Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday (1993)
  10. Jason X (2001)
  11. Friday the 13th (2009)
  12. Friday the 13th: Vengeance (2019)

It’s worth noting that the continuity of the series can be a bit confusing, as some films contradict or ignore events from previous movies. However, each film features the iconic character of Jason Voorhees in some form or another, and each one offers its own unique take on the franchise’s core themes and tropes.

What’s Next for the Friday the 13th Franchise?

As of now, the Friday the 13th franchise is in a bit of a limbo. The rights to the series are currently tied up in a legal battle between the original film’s screenwriter, Victor Miller, and the franchise’s producer, Sean S. Cunningham. This has put any future plans for the franchise on hold for the time being.

There have been rumors of a new Friday the 13th movie in development, but without a resolution to the legal issues, it’s unclear when or if that will happen. Some fans have expressed interest in seeing the franchise rebooted, while others would prefer to see a continuation of the original series.

Regardless of what happens next, it’s clear that the Friday the 13th franchise has left an indelible mark on the horror genre and popular culture as a whole. The iconic character of Jason Voorhees and the series’ inventive kills and suspenseful atmosphere continue to captivate audiences decades after the release of the original film.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button